Festival Awards
Roving Adjudicator Merit Awards
The Shirley Cockrell Community Theatre Excellence Award

The Theatre Association of New York State established its Scholarship & Awards Fund in 2008 to honor community theatres and their volunteers that demonstrate the spirit and diversity of community theatre.

The Shirley Cockrell Community Theatre Excellence Award will be presented to a TANYS community theatre that provides exemplary service to its community and continually aspires to and maintains the highest level of artistic achievement.

The community theatre organization must be a current member of TANYS and have been a member for at least 5 continuous years. The successful organization will have demonstrated outstanding theatrical work and commitment to community and educational theatre over an extended period of time. The successful organization will have enriched and educated its communities by providing a diversity of theatrical works: i.e., original works, readers’ theatre, workshops, classes, etc.

The successful company will have demonstrated a commitment to its community by partnering with other organizations to promote opportunities for youth, education and social development. The successful company will recognize its role in the promotion of the performing arts by membership and participation in the larger theatrical community.

Nominations must be in writing and must include:
  • List of Board of Directors, with addresses
  • Confirmation of TANYS membership
  • One page history of the organization
  • List of awards and honors
  • One page statement on how the company fulfills the criteria of this award
  • Three letters of support from people in the community who are not affiliated with the organization
  • Proof of 501(c)(3) status

Deadline for receipt of application is September 30.

The Shirley Cockrell Community Theatre Excellence Award will be given as merited. It will be presented at the annual TANYS Festival in November. The winning theatre organization will receive a monetary award.

The recipient will be selected by a committee of the Eastern States Theatre Association Board of Directors and will not involve any TANYS Board member. The winner will be known only to the Selection Committee until announced at the TANYS Festival.

Click the TANYS Nomination Form link above to download an application. Send your completed application with all attachments to TANYS Awards Committee, PO Box 4143, Rome, NY 13442, or email to [email protected].